Sophinisba Solis (
sophinisba) wrote2006-05-23 04:43 pm
Entry tags:
No one will ever replace Frodo in my heart
I'm enjoying reading Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix very much.
I'm about 300 pages in and am really enjoying all the Harry angst, the nightmares and the missing Cedric and all that. (Cedric!) I'm pretty grossed out and fascinated by this punishment that Umbridge is giving him in detention. As a Snarry fan I wish we could read more about Snape, but I have been enjoying those few scenes he's in. And maybe I'm silly and she's not that interesting a character or whatever, but I think the little scenes between Harry and Cho are adorable. I love all this badness going on at the Ministry of Magic which makes the whole world seem scarier.
It's also fun reading this one without having seen the movie (the only other one where I did that was PoA) so I don't know what's going to happen and there's a little more suspense.
I'm glad I've looked around in that fandom just a little now so that I can appreciate that, yeah, there are things about the books that even devoted fans find annoying, and that makes it easier to take those in stride rather than fixate on them.
Mmmm, I just read the part where Hermione and Ron suggest that Harry teach them defense against the dark arts, and I was so touched, just loved seeing how much his friends admire him without him realizing it (which of course reminds me a little of Frodo).
What books are you ladies reading these days?
I'm about 300 pages in and am really enjoying all the Harry angst, the nightmares and the missing Cedric and all that. (Cedric!) I'm pretty grossed out and fascinated by this punishment that Umbridge is giving him in detention. As a Snarry fan I wish we could read more about Snape, but I have been enjoying those few scenes he's in. And maybe I'm silly and she's not that interesting a character or whatever, but I think the little scenes between Harry and Cho are adorable. I love all this badness going on at the Ministry of Magic which makes the whole world seem scarier.
It's also fun reading this one without having seen the movie (the only other one where I did that was PoA) so I don't know what's going to happen and there's a little more suspense.
I'm glad I've looked around in that fandom just a little now so that I can appreciate that, yeah, there are things about the books that even devoted fans find annoying, and that makes it easier to take those in stride rather than fixate on them.
Mmmm, I just read the part where Hermione and Ron suggest that Harry teach them defense against the dark arts, and I was so touched, just loved seeing how much his friends admire him without him realizing it (which of course reminds me a little of Frodo).
What books are you ladies reading these days?

no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
My mom, who retired two years ago, is in four book clubs and she loves them. I went to a couple meetings with her the year I lived at home and it was a lot of fun. We read a really terrific book, Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, that I now recommend to all my friends.
no subject
no subject
no subject
Kavalier and Clay starts before World War II with two young men finding a life long friendship, which will result in them creating a famous comic book hero/series that will propel them to fame and fortune and adventure. I have just started it - beautifully written, funny, with rich characterizations.
no subject
no subject
no subject
They take me an absurdly long time too though, considering how easy they are to read. I do think now I'm close to catching up I'll probably do so this summer and then I can read the fic when I'm in the mood without fear of spoilers.
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I read fics in the HP fandom, here and there.
I've been reading the 'Chronicles of Narnia' for about, oh, the last 5 months or so. I'm at the second last story now - The Silver Chair - and hopefully I'll finish the book SOON!!! I have so many other books waiting for me to read, some I've bought almost a yr ago but the fanfics win each time *grins*
no subject
The Chronicles of Narnia are awesome. I haven't read them in way too long, but they were my seven favorite books when I was a kid (and I hadn't read LOTR!).
Heh, but I know how it is about the fanfics winning out over the books, I do indeed. :)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
http://sophinisba.livejournal.com/20113.html
I find the lj entry with links much easier to manage than the memories feature. Thanks for the interest, Elanor.