Sophinisba Solis (
sophinisba) wrote2006-03-22 09:00 pm
Entry tags:
Rangers!
Attention, interspecies fans! The Man in the Frodo/Orlando ficlet
absolutefiction posted yesterday, the one who likes to bathe nude in a pond near Bag End and then wank in a very hot way which a certain adorable hobbit finds inspiring, is not an actor from England but a Ranger! If you want, you can call him Halbarad. Many Meetings
Er, and, in case you missed it, I posted a Faculty ficlet the other night, Nobody Else. Man, that is the last time I post a fic in the middle of the night and then try to go to sleep.
Er, and, in case you missed it, I posted a Faculty ficlet the other night, Nobody Else. Man, that is the last time I post a fic in the middle of the night and then try to go to sleep.

no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
I really have no sense of perspective at all on my own writing, can't judge which ones are better than others, though I do have my favorites.
And I didn't mean to go into the whole insecurity thing in a public post, but oh well. :)
no subject
There is such a variety of reasons why people don't read and 90 percent of the time it has nothing at all to do with the quality of hte piece. But you knew that. As do I. Never makes it easier. Like me...I'm so far behind in reading stuff because my brain has been scattered and I'm stressed about RL. So often times I skim past something and think well unless it's a pairing and/or scenario that just thrills me to death, I think, well, I'll come back to that. And then I forget or get lazy. It's the disadvantage of not having some central place where EVERYONE just uploads their fics.
I have no perspective on my fics, either, none. But I do know that if I get a lukewarm or meh response, I'm unlikely to be thrilled about continuing if it's a WIP...;-)
I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
It's actually funny because with this one I was coming up with all these reasons to console myself on the first day, saying I posted it at the wrong time, and anyway Faculty people want slash and mine didn't have any so I shouldn't take it personally, and so on. Later on the comments picked up and I've actually heard from people on this one who'd never read anything of mine before, so it's all completely delightful, but just goes to show that I really have no idea whether a fic of mine is any good until other people tell me.
But I feel good about this one now, and feel really good about the M/P I posted over the weekend. That one's been read by a lot less people (which I completely understand), but the comments that are there have made me really proud. So. Dependent on external validation, yes, that's me. I don't seem to be getting over that. :)
Re: I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
But of course, you know this and I know this -- be careful of the external validation because I've found that the things that are most dear to us are sometimes the stories that get the least attention. You want to know what story of mine got just tons of feedback and emails and requests for more? Nope, not some canon-based epic. Nope, not even good interspecies sex. Certainly not the Frodo/Sam WIP I once attempted.
It was a fic written on the spur of the moment mpreg AU in which Frodo was pregnant with twins. Why? I'm convinced because it just hit those kink buttons for those who enjoy that kink, lol *cough, Lily, *cough*).
Was this my best work? Nope. Was it the work I was most proud of? Certainly not. The stories that I'm most proud of hardly passed with any recognition from anyone. And yet I'm still most proud of them..;-)
I'm TOTALLY babbling here and probably didn't make much sense, but I'm tired...! :-)
Re: I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
I have heard from a lot of people that you won't get as much feedback for the fics you care the most about. I've found it to be true too and I try not to mind. I think it's only natural, really, that folks would enjoy something that I wrote easily, didn't take to much time with. I've got a long Frodo WIP on my hard drive that I've been writing on and off from the very beginnning, and I've decided not to post any part of it until I finish the whole thing, because I'm afraid that once I start posting chapters I'll be disapointed by the lack of response and that will keep me from wanting to finish it. And I love that fic, and I would hate to have a bad experience with it or give it up half way. So I need to just write it for myself (and show some pieces of it to Dana) and then share it with the world (and have, you know, maybe two people follow it to the end).
I don't know, maybe that's a little contradictory, but yeah. Thanks for the conversation, Claudia. This is fun.
Re: I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
Absolutely. Writing fan fic and posting it IS a social activity. If I want to get pleasure out of a story just for myself, I'll write it in my notebook and keep it there. I won't share even a little bit with anyone because the moment I do that, then the community owns it on some level. If nobody comments, I feel like a.) the premise or pairing wasn't intriguing, b.) it really, really sucked and my friends are just being polite by saying nothing c.) bad timing...the people who would normally read it are busy, didn't see it, etc. or d.) all of the above, lol!
And I'm ashamed that I've quit writing some WIPs because the feedback was lukewarm or not plentiful or the people that I thought would really enjoy it didn't even read it, etc. Honestly, I'd rather have fewer comments but from people whose feedback means a lot to me than to have tons of feedback from a bunch of strangers that say things like "write more soon!" or "that was good!" :-)
What is your Frodo WIP about?
And I have to sincerely apologize for the betaing of your last few chapters. I have never in my life been this irresponsible about a beta. I swear it has nothing to do with the story. I absolutely LOVE the story and your writing. It really is all about being so stressed and unsatisfied with my life lately that I can't freakin' remember anything from one moment to the next unless it's sitting right in front of my nose, and I can't seem to organize the rest of my life. And then I switched computers which threw me off even more...I know you resent me those chapters awhile back and ... somehow all this time just slipped by...I"ll get done what I have tomorrow! (I know you said you were rewriting the last chapter or something??)
Re: I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
It's interesting what you say about getting substantial feedback from friends and "Yay!" from strangers. I personally can't seem to shake this belief that my friends say nice things about my fics because we're friends, and not because the fic itself is especially good. I feel awful saying this, because I love my lj friends and the loyal readers, but I actually get more excited over hearing from somebody who's just popped by for the one fic and tells me she liked it. It's just been a marvelous experience with the M/P though because I've gotten a couple really meaty comments from people who haven't read any of my fics or interacted with me much before, so I don't have that same insecurity about it.
My monster endless post-quest AU WIP is kinda/sorta secret, though not really. I just can't see a lot of people who've read my stuff in the past following the whole thing, because it takes place mostly in the Shire and has bits of het and femslash in it and for some other reasons. And I get the feeling that people who do like nice fic about hobbits in the Shire tend to be a little less tolerant of crazy AUs than the interspecies gang. But I might be just imagining that. Anyway, I do love the story. I'll finish it someday. (And I when I do I would encourage you to read just the first chapter of it, which is the one that has Aragorn in it.)
Re: I'm okay now, it was just that first morning
For MY part, I know I don't read anything that I don't want to read so if I'm giving feedback, it's always real and not just to "be nice". So that might mean I don't read every pairing or scenario (unless I just get in that mood to read anything), but when I do I'm all excited about it!
Well, that's really cool about your WIP. It's true that the scenario sounds MUCH more Dana's cuppa, lol, with the femslash and het. But if you are getting really into writing it and are enjoying yourself with it, then that's what you should be writing.
I HOPE one day you'll be inspired to write a Frodo/Aragorn WIP because you write the pairing so well! :-) But I don't want to pressure your muse because I believe that one should always follow one's muse...:-)
Viva interspecies
in the movieI'd remembered, and I really had wanted to do this one with more of a book feel to it. I'll get back to the idea eventually though.And I'm not actually working on the post-quest one right now either. I just take out parts of it every once in a while and remember that I love it and want to finish it someday. I think for the next little while it'll be my Frodo challenge fic and probably some short Faculty stuff. And, er, school stuff.
Re: Viva interspecies
Okay, if you're not in any hurry with the other Frodo one, maybe I'll delay the beta a little while longer, too (since I have a whole list of things to get through today, lol) :-)
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject
no subject